Young and Dumb

A little preface here. I know I said I was going to do a post to kind of piggyback off of my last post but this topic just popped into my head and I felt that I needed to get it out. Hopefully next post will go with the first one! 🙂

The other day I was getting something at some store like dollar general or something. I was waiting in line and this older (probably in his 50’s) was in front of me and them there was another woman who was a little bit younger than him in front of him. I heard them just having a little conversation about politics and the upcoming election. I just thought to myself that I should stand in line and not say anything because with this election some people can get fired up! I was minding my own business when the man in front of me turned around and said, “Well I bet she’s voting for Hillary because you know she’s a girl and she is young and dumb.” There it is. That phrase. “Young and Dumb” Now whether or not I am voting for Hillary or Trump or whoever, that doesn’t matter. What matters is that just because I was standing there in line and that gentleman turned around and saw that I was young he automatically assumed I was dumb; or Ignorant; or immature. Wow. When I heard that I almost dropped my basket right there and wanted to yell at him. But right there, if I would have done that I would have proved his argument right there without him having to say another word. That is why I did not do that. I calmly responded and kind of joked around with him and explained some of my political views (briefly) with him and told him why I felt that way. Now the real issue here is that yes I totally agree, some young people make very poor choices. That is why there is an age requirement to drive, drink, vote, etc. Now with that said, my opinion is that anyone of any age can make very poor decisions. Now you may at this point totally agree with me and say, “Ok that’s great but so what?” Well there is another part to this. There is a quote from Gandhi that I have heard and I never really thought anything of it because I never really thought I could make a change in the world. Until now. The quote says, “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” Changing the world seems like something impossibly hard to do. I, with my new found ‘confidence’ beg to differ. I believe whole heartedly that old people can be just as dumb as young people. Now that being said not everyone believes that. I believe that if you want something in life you have to go get it yourself. It’s not going to come or change on its own. That is where the Gandhi quote comes in. If we want people to stop viewing young people as ignorant, dumb, poor decision makers, or whatever, DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT! Hold doors for other people, say yes ma’am and no ma’am, say please and thank you! Make the other people that do not believe that we are capable of being more than just money suckers until we are 25 question what they believe. Make someone go “wow I’m impressed, chivalry isn’t dead.” Consciously make decisions that put you at the same maturity level as your boss at work, your mentor, your dad even. Everyday strive to be a better person. That is the only way that we can change people ideas and views of us. Prove them wrong. Be the change.

Yours truly,
-K

Leave a Reply

